As of October 1 2016, Harrold Lower School converted to academy status. We are now part of the Sharnbrook Academy Federation (SAF) along with Sharnbrook Upper School; Lincroft Middle School; Margaret Beaufort Middle School and Harrold Priory Middle School.

For further information regarding governance of the MAT, please click on the following link



In accordance with the Government’s requirement for all governing bodies, the 3 core strategic functions of Harrold Lower School Governing Body are:

1. Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos, values and strategic direction;
2. Holding the Headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils;
3. Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent.

For more information, please read the Annual Governance Statement for the Governing Body of Harrold Lower School (January 2016).


Governors are appointed, elected or co-opted for a fixed term of usually up to four years. The Governing Body is made up of representatives from the staff, parents, community and a member nominated by the local authority. The Headteacher is also a governor.

The work of the Governors includes the appointment of staff, overseeing the curriculum policies of the school, admission of pupils to the school, setting and monitoring the school’s budget, contributing to the School Improvement Plan and monitoring the overall effectiveness of the school.

The Governing Board 2016 – 2017 (updated October 2016)

The Governing Bodies of Harrold Lower School and Harrold Priory Middle School federated on November 18 2016. They met for the first time on November 30 2016.

HLS Governing Body Website Information – Dec 2016

Please click on the link below for information about the members of the Governing Body last academic year.

The Governing Body 2015 – 2016 – Information including Attendance


Governors – please click here for further information

Access to GovernorHub, click here

How to Contact the Governing Body

Letters should be addressed to the Chair of Governors, Mrs Jane Charsley. Please forward any letters to the School Office who will pass them on.
The governors can also be contacted via the Clerk to the Governors, c/o Harrold Lower School Office.